Technical Thrust Area

Computational Fluid Dynamics and Fluid-Structure Interaction

Chair: John Evans, University of Colorado-Boulder 
Vice-Chair: Jinhui Yan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Members-at-Large: Artem Korobenko, University of Calgary
Hugo Casquero, University of Michigan - Dearborn

Not a member? Click here to learn how to become one.


Seminar Series

November 4, 2021; 1-2pm CDT

Marilyn Smith, Georgia Tech
Title: TBD
Abstract: TBD


October 14, 2021; 1-2pm CDT

Tayfun Tezduyar, Rice University
Title: Space–Time Computational Analysis: From Inception to New Generations

Space–Time VMS (ST-VMS) method and its predecessor ST-SUPS have a good track record in computational analysis of complex FSI and moving boundaries and interfaces (MBI). Challenging problems with successful analysis range from spacecraft parachutes to flapping-wing aerodynamics of an actual locust, from ventriclevalve-aorta flow to tire-aerodynamics with actual tire geometry, road contact and tire deformation. When an FSI or MBI problem requires high-resolution representation of boundary layers, methods where the mesh moves to follow the fluid–solid interface meet that requirement. Moving-mesh methods have been practical in more classes of complex problems than commonly thought of. With a number of complementary methods, the ST methods can now do even more. This is an overview of how the ST methods started and how they evolved over the years. It is joint work with Kenji Takizawa, Waseda

September 9, 2021; 1-2pm CDT

Yuri Bazilevs, Brown University
Title: Advanced and Practical Fluid-Structure Interaction

In this talk I will present the recent breakthroughs in advanced fluid-structure interaction (FSI) modeling that enable the application of what is largely considered by some "academic" methods to accurate and effective simulation of mechanical and structural systems. The presentation will focus on describing the modeling approaches involved and showing several convincing examples/studies from wind energy to air-blast FSI.